Pacific Rim (2013)

I’m going to try this alternating thing between Christmas marathon and 2013 movies.  Of course, 2013 movies will be the lesser one since I don’t have a whole bunch but my tablet’s Samsung Video Voucher has been extremely awesome and giving me free rentals.  The trade-off is of course watching a movie with a bunch of effects on a 10 inch screen.  Either way, it was going to expire so I gave it a watch over the weekend.

pacific rim posterDirector: Guillermo del Toro

Cast: Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba, Rinko Kikuchi, Charlie Day, Burn Gorman, Max Martini, Robert Kazinsky, Ron Perlman, Clifton Collins Jr.

As a war between humankind and monstrous sea creatures wages on, a former pilot (Charlie Hunnam) and a trainee (Rinko Kikuchi) are paired up to drive a seemingly obsolete special weapon in a desperate effort to save the world from the apocalypse.-IMDB

Let me make a few things clear.  First of all, I may have been the few that actually had doubts about Pacific Rim from the trailers however, this brings us  the second point.  I am also a HUGE Guillermo del Toro fan.  I love Pan’s Labyrinth and even when he isn’t directing and just production or writer/screenplay, whatever, the man is awesome! So thats my point of why I still had lots of hope that this would be fantastic.

PACIFIC RIM

Now that we’ve put that aside, I guess you’re wondering how I felt about the movie.  For one, my expectations from the trailers were totally off because this movie really rocked my world even when seeing it on a tiny screen.  I’d definitely be seeking out a copy of it on a larger screen some time.  There is nothing deep about a giant monsters versus giant machines story but it packs in a whole lot of fun, some interesting dialogue and some pretty awesome visuals.  It took me for a quite an amazing ride.

pacific rim 1

A plus was definitely the characters.  The marshall was played by Idris Elba who I’ve grown quite fond of after seeing Takers.  He’s authoritative and so manly.  “Today, we are cancelling the apocalypse” Now thats a pretty impressive character.  And then we have Raleigh played by Charlie Hunnam.  Funny enough, I’m not really attached to that character but he wasn’t all bad.  I felt that his chemistry with Mako Mori was really well done though. They connected very well and for the nature of their characters, it was needed.  But nothing really beats the comic relief and the awesome mesh of Dr Newton (Charlie Day) and Gottlieb (Burn Gorman).  They were just absolute fun to watch. Another one I really liked was Herc Hansen.  That guy was so cool even though he didn’t have much screen time.

???????????

Overall, Pacific Rim is a very fun movie with some pretty cool characters, outstanding visuals and an awesome concept. I loved it and if you’re into the whole giant monsters versus machines type of movie, this is an enjoyable one! 🙂

What did you think of Pacific Rim?

24 thoughts on “Pacific Rim (2013)

  1. Good review Kim. I feel like if they shaved-off maybe 10 or 20 minutes of useless character-development, then this movie would have probably kicked a lot more ass than it already did. Then again, it was a summer blockbuster in every sense of the word, so I guess I can’t complain about too much.

    Like

    • If they were to honor the summer blockbuster title, they would’ve actually done exactly that. But because they didn’t and had a little bit of character development, I actually think they might have benefited from more. Still, its very entertaining, not that I’m really complaining either 🙂

      Like

  2. It’s funny that Dan mentions the character development. I actually think it could have used more development and a bit less ass-kicking. Still, I enjoyed the spectacle of it and think it provided some great entertainment.

    Like

    • If they wanted the story and the attachment to the characters, they should’ve definitely developed it more. I agree with that but you know, same as how I really enjoyed Transformers, this one had a lot of action that made it great entertainment 🙂

      Like

  3. I think it was a great movie. (Probably even better on the big screen) I agree that with the amount of character development they did, they might as well have added a bit more.
    Oh well, that will probably be in the “super extended directors final cut” that I’m sure will get released eventually.

    Like

  4. I love Guillermo Del Toro films and Mecha. So I was pretty psyched for this film from the get-go. Too bad Lionsgate dicked him out the Cthulhu film he was working on. Would’ve like to have seen his take on The Hobbit, but oh well.

    Like

  5. Great review. I am going to be checking this out soon. I keep hearing good things, I just can’t imagine how it can be working that well, so I have to see to believe! 😀

    Like

  6. Pingback: What’s Up Week 10: There is never enough TV series… | Tranquil Dreams

  7. Pingback: Tranquil Dreams Podcast #13: What’s Up 2021 Week 20 | Tranquil Dreams

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.