Copabanana Cake!

Originally, the dessert request was for some banana nut bread.  The counter is full of very ripe bananas so it had to be done.  But in the absence of a good banana nut bread recipe, I decided to make some delicious banana cake! Whose in for that?

Banana cake

I got this wonderful recipe from my Looneyspoons Collections called exactly that: Copabanana Cake.  This is a super easy recipe, originally made with chocolate chips, but I replaced it with chopped almonds.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1/4 cup butter, at room temperature

1 cup mashed ripe banana

1/2 cup light sour cream

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips (in my case, chopped almonds)

P1210214

1) Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 9×13 inch baking pan with cooking spray and set aside.

2) In a medium bowl, combine both flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

3) In a large bowl, beat together sugar, eggs and butter on medium speed of electric mixer.  Add bananas, sour cream and vanilla.  Beat again until smooth.

4) Gradually, add flour mixture to banana mixture, beating after each addition.  Batter will be thick.  Fold in almonds (or chocolate chips).

5) Spoon batter in prepared pan and spread and evenly using a spatula.  Bake for 25 to 28 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in center of cake comes out clean.  Cool completely on a wire rack.  Cut into 16 pieces and store in an airtight container.

This is a pretty straightforward recipe.  I didn’t have to change much of the recipe. The only ingredient that I did take out was sour cream.  I can’t eat that so I didn’t even bother to replace it with anything like water, which I usually would do.  However, it didn’t affect it much.  The taste of this cake is really good and the texture is exactly right, not too moist and not too dry. Exactly how I like it! I’m sure you would too!

What’s your favorite banana dessert? Cake, Ice cream, muffins, cupcakes..etc? The choices are unlimited!

15 thoughts on “Copabanana Cake!

  1. Fortunately I have eaten breakfast so I am not feeling uncontrollably hungry, as I usually do when I see your pictures. That looks delicious and I love the name because it reminds me of the Barry Manilow song, (dating myself) from when I was in junior high. Thank you for getting my day off to a delicious yellow start. 🙂

    Like

    • Thats whats super awesome about the Looneyspoons cookbook that I have, it always has this funky names with little cartoons on the side and the recipes are always have high success rates. None of them have ever failed, at least the ones I’ve tried!
      I’m glad its helped you have a good start! Thats always my goal 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.