Halloween Marathon: Halloween 2 (1981)

On Sunday, right after Halloween ended, we popped in the Halloween 2! Maybe thats how we’ll do the main feature but at least its a good continuity, right? With that said, you really shouldn’t read this if you haven’t seen the first one,k? This won’t spoil the second one but will spoil the first 😉 Let’s check it out!

halloween 2 posterDirector: Rick Rosenthal

Cast: Jamie Lee Curtis, Donald Pleasance, Charles Cyphers

Picking up at the last scene of Halloween, the police are rounding up the bodies and cleaning up after the mess that Michael Myers has made.  Laurie is being sent to the hospital to be treated for her injuries.  Dr. Loomis continues to try to search for Myers as he went missing even after being shot and falling from the second floor in the previous movie.  His chase leads him to learn a little more about Michael and perhaps the reason as to why he is after Laurie.  Michael ends up slashing his way through Haddonsfield all the way to the hospital where he continues his pursuit of Laurie and taking down whoever stands in his way.

halloween 2 laurie

I’m not exactly sure what to say about Halloween II. Honestly, I found it irritating for a good bit.  It was kind of slow and predictable.  On top of that, the characters themselves were just plain stupid and made dumb choices.  After so many things going on, Michael Myers is still invincible and close to immortal because he just never dies.  Its not that I hated this one.  The concept of it was decent, but the execution was a tad on the iffy side.  It was an engaging as the first one is what I’m trying to say.

halloween 2 michael

The cast pretty much stays the same with the focus on Jamie Lee Curtis as Laurie and it gets a lot better when she gets moving.  That was mostly at the end, unless the dragged on. I wasn’t really looking at the clock so I don’t know.  Dr. Loomis, still played with Donald Pleasance was also a welcoming face.  He is really good in this role and frankly, I think he’s my favorite character in this one.  As for the other side characters that each have about 5 minutes on screen total or something, they aren’t really worth my time.  They make stupid decisions and for the most part, I was not alive in 1970s but I never though an hospital would be empty at night…thats just me. That part didn’t make much sense to me.

halloween_ii_LOOMIS

Aside from all the flaws, was it a terrible movie? I don’t think so.  Sure, it was a bit slow and pointless at times but it did give a sense of continuation and tried to give the audience some answers as to why this was happening.  Although, there isn’t really any explanation even after we know the “secret”.  Its definitely a huge drop from the first one.  Its not really scary and not as engaging.  Its really straight out a slasher flick where all that really happens is people getting stalked and killed in different sorts of ways.  By the way, I really need to know how Michael learns all these things (drive a car, use hospital equipment, etc) when he’s been locked up since he was a kid.

What did you think of this sequel? Did you like this more than I did? Do you think its a worthy sequel?

9 thoughts on “Halloween Marathon: Halloween 2 (1981)

  1. It wasn’t the best, but it’s still better than some of the other sequels, I promise : ) Nice work! I’m eager to see what you think about number 3.

    Like

  2. I grew up in the thick of the slasher movie craze, but I was never really into these movies. Even as a kid I know that the Jason and Freddy films were pretty bad, and I didn’t want to waste my time. As an adult, I finally got around to watching every Nightmare on Elm Street movie in an enormous marathon, and I was struck by how ridiculous they seem today. The same goes for most of the other franchises. They’re actually kind of quaint, like when you watch the old black-and-white Frankenstein movies. I feel old.

    Like

  3. I honestly can’t remember if I have seen any of the Halloween films in full but I don’t find Myers all that scary, maybe more annoying, ahah. In any case, I’m just not a horror fan in general 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.