Halloween Marathon: Halloween Resurrection (2002)

The FIRST review for 2014 Halloween movie marathon starts with wrapping up the previous one.  Last year, I think, Netflix didn’t have this yet and I simply ran over in November and then writing month started so I had to tuck this away. Although a bunch of you told me that its better that I stayed away, it just didn’t seem right to not wrap it up.  So here we are!

Lets check out Halloween Resurrection! 🙂

halloween resurrectionDirector: Rick Rosenthal

Cast: Bianca Kajlich, Sean Patrick Thomas, Daisy McCrackin, Katee Sackhoff, Luke Kirby, Thomas Ian Nicholas, Tyra Banks, Busta Rhymes

Picking up 3 years after Laurie thought she had beheaded Michael Myers and in turn is in a psychiatric hospital, she waits for him to find her eventually.  Knowing he is still alive and out there, Dangertainment, an online reality show chooses 6 students compensated with a scholarship to go investigate the house of Michael Myers when he was a kid to figure out how he became who he is on Halloween.  They will be trapped in the house for an entire night under camera surveillance placed around the house and their own cameras and microphones attached to them while live broadcasting to the public. Except things go horribly wrong when they realize that they are not alone.

halloween resurrection

Where to start for this review? Lets have a little recap of how I felt about the previous ones up to this point.  Its been a year so who remembers, right? I liked Halloween and enjoyed Halloween 2.  Halloween 3 was random and weird and really not my cup of tea.  Honestly, I don’t remember much except for that really annoying song/jingle because my boyfriend will start singing it all the time when he watches it.  Then, 4, 5 and 6 tried to bring it back to its roots and it was mildly successful although the story made absolutely no sense.  And then, we have Halloween H20, which was only good because of Jamie Lee Curtis but other than that, the story and idea and everything was so meh. Plus, the last few just became so predictable and Michael Myers wasn’t even all that creepy. And thats coming from me. If you’re new here, lets just say, I’m REALLY easier scared.

halloween resurrection

Finally we get to this one: Halloween Resurrection. There’s really nothing to do with nothing here.  Its just trying to modernize the idea with some live reality online broadcasting thing and bringing Michael Myers back as the man who just never dies because he’s evil or the devil or something.  Jamie Lee Curtis has the most convincing scene in this and then once these 6 teens start and a very laughable appearance of Busta Rhymes starts, everything just falls apart.  Its extremely predictable and not really scary at all.  Plus, this has to be the most uneffective Michael Myers because I don’t know, I just felt he moved so fast.  Isn’t he like 45 now or whatever? I mean, with all the accidents, you’d think at least he’d be even more at his menacingly scary slow-mo walking to create atmosphere but nope, not a chance.

halloween resurrection

I’m not going to say this was an absolute failure because nothing boggles my mind quite like how Halloween 3 became part of this franchise but there are a lot of downfalls.  Its really hard to comment on casting when its not really a big plus in most horror genres.  The cast wasn’t exactly stellar.  I was okay with the group of six although they were kind of stupid at times but Busta Rhymes was really annoying to watch.  Rick Rosenthal, however, as director does try to bring in some more Halloween atmosphere than previous instalments.  I mean, he did do Halloween 2.  I liked that one well enough and because of that, there was one creepy moment in this.  So like I said, not a compete failure.

I really have nothing to say, so overall, Halloween Resurrection is one you can probably live without.  Its absolutely unnecessary and some of the cast was really annoying to watch.

I am extremely happy that I’m done the franchise.  If you were wondering whether I have watched the Halloween (remake?) by Rob Zombie.  Yes, I have and I actually covered that in my first Halloween month back in 2012.  You can see it HERE! I probably should revisit it and give it a proper full review but that kind of slipped my mind when I was putting together the rundown, not to mention I’d have to dig it out of boxes again….so maybe next year 😉 I did enjoy that one as well 🙂

Have you seen the entire Halloween franchise? Which is your fave? Did  you think that any was unnecessary and if so, when did you start having that feeling?

7 thoughts on “Halloween Marathon: Halloween Resurrection (2002)

  1. This is by far the worst of them all followed very closely by Part 5. I enjoy the original, part 2, 3, and 4 along with H20. I think Part 3 doesn’t get the credit it deserves though – one of the better ones in the series. Good luck with your marathon – Part 2, 4, 6, and 7 are my personal favorites in the Friday the 13th series.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.