Hong Kong: Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

A few days ago, when I was talking about Hong Kong transport and how my family lived at the far ends of subway and train lines, I wasn’t joking.  It takes me more than an hour to get to my grandmother’s place on my dad’s side. They live in this faraway close to countryside area called Lam Tei in the New Territories.

On the first Saturday I was back, we coincidentally had a huge family reunion with relatives that visited from China.  It made for a dim sum meal looking like this one.

Red Seasons Restaurant

Family reunion @ Red Seasons Restaurant

That was just the extreme at dinner, meaning there was a few dishes excluded from this view.  I didn’t mean to exclude it, except its a bit tough when I end up spending time with my little nephews and they are young and obviously attention grabbers.  Red Seasons restaurant however is a chain in Hong Kong and I’ve seen them in various areas in Hong Kong. It has decent food.

It was a beautiful (and extremely hot) day, so we decided to go to visit Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery which is literally situated behind the restaurant with the whole group.  Other than my aunt, no one had actually been to visit before.

Whats interesting about Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery is that it was renewed completely a few years back.  Timeline is uncertain here but it has a traditional section which was the old building and the new building is pretty modernized.  We took the traditional side to enter.

Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

Traditional side of the temple

I’m going to say that Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery (very much like other monasteries) have done a good job with the surroundings.  This one is smaller but it still has a very nice atmosphere.  It has a mini waterfall with ponds full of koi.

Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

Pond full of koi

It has a little rock structure where you can walk around in

Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

Rock structures

Its walkways are lined with desert roses.

Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

Desert roses

The older part of the temple is adorned with gold posts and looks really intricate.  Although it definitely does show its age since it looks a bit worn out here and there, it does hold a certain beauty as well.

Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

Older side of the temple

Walking over to the newer side, we find that its literally a white building.  You have take an elevator to go up to the top.  Up there, it is a walk around the Buddha to be blessed.  Even if you don’t believe in that, you can pretty much look at the awesome scenery.

Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

The view on top on one side.

Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

Looking over the older temple

Other than the view, the first attraction is the few golden Buddhas located inside the hall.  I had to take the picture outside because it bothers some people to take a picture inside where people are praying so this really zoomed in..

Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

As you walk around, in the back they have a little wheel to turn. Its supposed to bring some sort of blessing, I think. There’s my nephew attempting to turn the wheel.

Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

I’m not really that knowledgeable to a huge extent of Buddhism. I get the general idea and I like to view it as a philosophy to a better mindset to have a more positive way of life.  If you read both Taoist and Buddhism literature, it has a really calming effect. I’m still learning about it bit by bit.

That’s it for temples/monasteries and religion 😉 We’ll be getting back to food very soon!

6 thoughts on “Hong Kong: Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery

  1. Oh haven’t been here in a long time but Love love love the header! Thanks for the little vacation through your pictures.. (I wish there was something like taster-net… looks delicious!!!) 😀

    Like

  2. The pictures look fabulous and the food delicious! Those dumplings–at least that’s what I think they are–really do bring on an appetite. That’s it, I’ll have to order Chinese over the weekend!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.