The Sherlock Holmes Handbook for the Digital Age by Alan Pearce

**Received in exchange for an honest review**

The Sherlock Holmes Handbook for the Digital Age
by Alan Pearce

The Sherlock Holmes Handbook for the Digital Age

Sherlock Holmes is the greatest detective of all time. He is driven to right the wrongs of the world. It is only natural that he should turn his attention to the Internet.  “The Internet has become a sinister and dangerous place – a grotesque parody of all that it originally promised,” explains Holmes. “Open your eyes, Watson. We are living in a postmodern surveillance dystopia from which escape for all but the most skilled individuals is impossible.” Luckily, Holmes has all the right answers. This is a cyber-security and digital counter-surveillance handbook like no other. – Goodreads

Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson are iconic characters and extremely smart ones at that. They are a great team and just like TV shows such as Elementary has done, Alan Pearce has taken these two characters and put them together in a modern setting to use modern day examples of how the digital age has made us more vulnerable and teach us the tools we need to protect ourselves a little more with cybersecurity. The idea of it all is fascinating especially because security is a huge part of just being online.

Tranquil Dreams is nothing big and my Youtube channel and Twitter are far from it as well but we are all exposed to the dangers of being in the cyber world. I do recommend that you take this handbook and explore the little tips and applications and software it talks about as you can step by step. For myself, I read on the go so that proves a little more difficult. However, it proves useful and I will go back to explore all that it talks about. Not that I don’t trust Alan Pearce and his cybersecurity knowledge even when told through Sherlock Holmes to give better examples of how certain cybersecurity issues could happen, but rather, its important to research things on our own as well. Its all part of learning, at least that is what I believe.

The Sherlock Holmes Handbook for the Digital Age is a fun and quick read. Its an educational read as well as it fills up with examples shown by Sherlock Holmes as he teaches Dr. Watson through everyday examples going from one location to the next with tips and details, some of which I already knew about and others that I was surprised to learn more about. Something about setting as a real life example in places I can relate to made this educational read more tolerable and engaging and the angle it takes to teach us is a great one. Even if you don’t plan on installing and setting all the software and cybersecurity tips it talks about, there is still something to take away from this read. Although at times, it can get a little overwhelming, hence the advice above to research as you go and take this read bit by bit and see what applies to you and what doesn’t.

With that said, this topic fascinates me. In fact, I did start looking at my mobile security because I work so much on my cellphone, even if I do avoid money related transactions on it. I took a look at a few apps it suggested and things here and there. For me, this handbook does a good job of outlining what we need to know. I’m not one to pick up these handbook manual things mostly because I’m still recovering from giving up fiction literature from years of college and university. However, time and time again, I do think about this and it is very useful for everyday life whether you choose to follow everything it says or not.

There is much to review here. The Sherlock Holmes Handbook for the Digital Age is still something I need to explore to determine what can be useful for but as a quick informative read to know more about cybersecurity, I think it sets up a good stage to educate us in a fun and engaging way. There is a lot of information compacted in this quick read. As I said, it sets up a big stage to try to learn more about all these aspects, especially the software and apps and other measures it suggests, especially if cybersecurity interests you, as it does for me.

9 thoughts on “The Sherlock Holmes Handbook for the Digital Age by Alan Pearce

  1. Where can one find this book? I just followed the Goodreads link to Amazon and there was nothing there. This is a topic I’ve become more interested in over the past year or so, and I’d love to check it out. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

