Knock Knock (2015)

One of the newer movies I purchased last year was one that seems to really be only known for its sexy moment, however, Keanu Reeves somehow always has this spot in my heart and I’ve fallen behind on watching a lot of the newer movies so here we are with Knock Knock. For the record, it was a choice among 5 DVDs and my husband picked this one.

Let’s check it out!

Knock Knock (2015)

Knock Knock

Director (and co-writer): Eli Roth

Cast: Keanu Reeves, Lorenza Izzo, Ana de Armas, Aaron Burns, Ignacia Allamand

When a devoted husband and father is left home alone for the weekend, two stranded young women unexpectedly knock on his door for help. What starts out as a kind gesture results in a dangerous seduction and a deadly game of cat and mouse. – IMDB

The best way to start this write-up off would be to say that I have seen a lot of reviews on this. Although, I might not have read them thoroughly, the general idea that I get is that it isn’t really that well-received. With that said, my expectations are also not quite that high. In my heart, I’d like to think that it could be good. Maybe be a little fun and sexy, that sort of thing. However, even my much less harsh critique in me still couldn’t like this a lot. In fact, I found this more of a funny “laughing at the movie” sort of affair than it made me feel much more than that. A lot of this, I feel has to do with casting Keanu Reeves in the role of the seduced man and I’ll get to that in a moment. I like the man a lot so I feel like I should explain myself a little more and the characters and all that. Knock Knock isn’t horrible. It just kind of misses delivering thrills and somehow it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense and that isn’t because I’m a lady and don’t understand male impulsions, my husband also found it peculiar in the choices that Keanu Reeves’ character makes. We do think that the movie starts off on the right path until it kind of goes way off track.

Knock Knock

Keanu Reeves plays Evan, the devoted husband who has to stay behind. What Knock Knock does well is setting up the stage at the beginning of the family that Evan has: his wife and kids. The setup of the house gets a nice virtual tour and we even get a hint of the relationship he has with his wife. It is always nice to know the stakes and what our main character could lose. While different from my own perspectives on opening the door to strangers, I can even back Evan’s opening the door to help out any strangers, be it two pretty girls or not, because it is pouring rain outside. However, the moment you know its a bad decision and all the red lights start flashing is letting some chick you don’t know come into your house to mess with your internet. Even if they weren’t trying to seduce or whatever else, they could access all financial info or whatnot if they had some mad computer skills. However, while questionable, that isn’t exactly where the movie falls apart either, it just starts chipping at itself a little, in fact, even after the seduction bit, I could still accept the movie for what it is. Its in the meat of when the situation flips around and we know that these two girls have issues that Evan (aka Keanu Reeves) dialogue become a little funny. You got his typical wooden reactions which works well in a lot of action movies and what not but in this situation, I spent a good bit of it laughing at it, taking away from it possibly making it have thrills, just a lot of humor, which I assume wasn’t the goal. Maybe I’m wrong. I don’t have a lot of Eli Roth movie viewing experience. That’s why I say that casting Keanu Reeves might be one of the reasons for lack of believability and immersion. I’ll go more into the story and layout of it all a little more after we talk about the beautiful ladies.

Knock Knock

Beauty is to the eye of the beholder but these two ladies, Ana de Armas and Lorenza Izzo, playing Bel and Genesis respectively are very pretty and rather fitting for their role. Not just because of their looks but also that they go full on flip in personality in the most eerie and weird way. In fact, we never really quite know what they want or what their issue is. The mystery of the antagonists usually is appealing, except the fun part is to have their reveal. Bel and Genesis really only have minuscule snippets. There’s some daddy issues with Bel perhaps and there’s something disturbingly odd with Genesis and this is a thing that they do without fail most times apparently but what is their deal? Is that what this movie wants to do? Make us wonder who these ladies are. Maybe punish the bad guys for falling for temptation and seduction? Or maybe trying to find the man that will prove them wrong. All speculation at this point since I feel like if there was an intention, I missed it. As great as their performances were for these two beautiful ladies, their characters felt empty.

Knock Knock Overall, Knock Knock had potential. It was definitely there. I hate to say that because it means that it missed the mark. Fact is, as great as the actors were, even if I found Keanu Reeves not exactly good for this role, there were issues with the script. Maybe it was trying to be too cryptic or too sly or too mysterious. Whatever it was, it fell short of what it could’ve been. It started out pretty well until it slowly just crumbled apart. Even with some nice shots especially with the navigation around the house before and after.  I think its time for John Wick to redeem Keanu Reeves since everyone says that movie is great.

Have you seen Knock Knock? Are you a Keanu Reeves fan?

4 thoughts on “Knock Knock (2015)

  1. “Maybe be a little fun and sexy…” – yeah, I was hoping, despite the bad reviews, that it could go down this way. It just didn’t. I watched it for Keanu Reeves though, love the man! Excellent write up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

