TV Binge: Scream (Season 2, 2016)

The second season of Scream has finally concluded a week or two month ago . Just in time for Halloween. With the franchise features and everything, it actually caught me by surprise that the season wasn’t done earlier and in turn, this missed the Halloween month although I did binge it over the Halloween weekend. I mean, it was a true binge. If you missed my Season 1 review, you can check it out HERE. There’s quite a few haters for this series and honestly, at the end of Season 1, I kind of grew fond of it. Now that I’ve caught up with all the Scream franchise, I started this up wondering if I would enjoy it the same way. Plus, a fun note, all the episodes are named after actual horror movies, which is a nice touch.

Scream (Season 2, 2016)

Scream TV Series

Creators: Jay Beattie, Jill E. Blotevogel, Dan Dworkin

Cast: Willa Fitzgerald, Bex Taylor-Klaus, John Karna, Carlson Young, Tracy Middendorf, Amadeus Serafini, Santiago Segura, Anthony Ruivivar, Sean Grandillo, Tom Maden, Bryan Batt

It has been a few days since I finished Scream Season 2 (when I first started writing this up) and I am just completely deeply in love with it (still am). Scream has its flaws but compared to the first season that took a little while to really pick up and get their characters in place, despite some obvious teen cast troupes, Scream 2 started off really strong and only got better as it reached mid season. The reintroduction of a new killer in the twisted Brandon James mask is still unnerving to see and just the reaction of the killer and the brutality in the kills are pretty intense. Not to mention, we continue a few months after the events and we learn that Emma has had a breakdown and went away to seek psychiatric help and is back in time for the new school year and ready to embrace all those judgemental eyes from the nobodies in school. We see that because of what happened in the last season, The Morgue Podcast is taken over by Noah and he has pegged them the Lakewood Six. In the last season,  (Spoiler Alert) we ended with the reveal that Audrey was part of Piper’s plans and was involved in some way. In Season 2, we start right off with Audrey being regretful of it and actually quite in the dark because the killer is back and starting off by threatening to reveal her involvement with the previous events, making Noah’s assumption of a partner with Piper becoming viable, what Audrey didn’t know was there was someone else in the equation.

Scream (Season 2)

The old cast is back with their own set of problems. Coming back from something as traumatic as being chased after by a killer is something that is pretty hard to handle. Everyone is healing in their own ways even if they don’t acknowledge it as healing. To be honest, I’m still not a huge fan of our main “heroine” here. The final girls are talked about a lot here. Another horror reference. It is one thing I love very much about how it is rather “meta”. I never know how to use that word but the Scream franchise itself plays on that a lot. Having someone who is fascinated by serial killers which is Noah in this one, a final girl which is Emma is this one. There is always someone with secrets and someone who is preppy and slutty but maybe is a little more, like Brooke. Brooke remains one of my favorite characters in Scream 2 because she has depth and actually acts kind of human in light of the return of the killer and everything that happens. There’s also Bex Taylor-Klaus who plays Audrey that I think the series has done a good job with but I already elaborated on her above. Oh wait, and of course, there’s Kieran. Also a disposable character in my book because him and Emma are getting tiring to watch. He kind of is around but isn’t. They have this relationship strain because of what happened in the last season. They continue to try to cast suspicions on him, as well as everyone else on who the partner could be. No one is left out in Season 2 on being the accomplice especially in the eyes of the police.

Scream 2

With that said, we need to look at the new additions because those are really exciting to talk about, for the most part. Stavo (full name: Gustavo), played by Santiago Segura is a great character. The young actor himself does a wonderful job. Stavo has so many layers. He is quite dark and doesn’t help that he is super creepy and says the weirdest things but we all know that the most suspicious person is rarely the person responsible. Plus, the thing he develops with Brooke is awesome! I don’t “ship” a lot of characters nowadays but them, I love to actual bits. On the same line of creepiness, Kieran’s cousin, Eli makes an appearance, played by Sean Grandillo. His role isn’t that huge but he is a pretty sketchy guy as well. He is always doing stuff that borders the grey areas. I only wish he had more camera time to build his character more. Eli felt a little wasted at times. Next up, a new character significant for a mention is the psychology brainiac, obviously paired up with Noah as love interest, Zoe, played by Kiana Ledé. A very good character also but somehow, the whole relationship thing for Noah took an interesting turn and then took a weird one which I started to not like Noah just a little. Zoe is a key part of the new cast and her character has some great moments. And also, did I mention that Stavo is the new sheriff’s son and the sheriff is a character I’m slightly on the fence about. I started liking the connection the story gives him in the second half but for the most of the first half, I question his judgement.

Scream TV Series Season 2

We can’t really do an overview of a TV Binge without looking at the killer, right? I’m going to admit that Scream TV Series has taken me surprise even in the first season. It is gory at times and really creepy. It builds a nice suspicion. The killer is crafted so well in this series. I know that this is still a teen series and there might be some things left to be desired but in reality, this one focuses a lot on the fear and building up the backstory of Brandon James and last season’s Piper and now, the accomplice. The question remains: What is the connection? And this is even above who did it. I think it becomes a little more obvious nearing the last few episodes if you look closely at the details and the events of last season and the dialogue between Emma and Audrey in the final few episodes of Season 2 leading up to the final reveal. However, it took me by surprise and that is really all I want to say about it because then I’m heading into spoiler territory and I don’t want to do that (even if I want to talk about this series so much, that I got my husband to binge watch it also.)

As a final note, I loved Scream Season 2. There are some flaws but a lot of the character chemistry and story building and even having a nice lead-up for the next season makes it have so much to look forward to. And if you were wondering, I was alright with the Halloween Special because it paid homage to the original Scream. I was waiting to see when things would kind of converge a little and I’m happy that it did. Plus, as out of place as the Halloween Special was, I thought it still had a lot of cool and creepy moments. But that’s just coming from me, who gets scared easily.  On that note, I’m happy that Season 3 is renewed currently for 6 episodes (which is half a season is what I’m guessing and hopefully will have more if the ratings are good). I’m going to keep my eye on it.

7 thoughts on “TV Binge: Scream (Season 2, 2016)

Leave a Reply

