Dessert: Apple Crumble Tart

A gloomy (and busy) Sunday brings on a nice simple post with a delicious recipe!

Its a little delayed as always but I did make this Apple Crumble Tart about two weeks or so ago, again from the Made in Quebec book that I had bought which looks at the Quebec harvests per season and shows some cool recipes (in case I never talked about it before). We bought a ton of apples from the Atwater Market and it was the last thing from that shopping trip that I hadn’t used yet so I looked at making something simple and to use up the pie shell sitting in my freezer.

It goes to say that the only change in this recipe is that I didn’t make the pie crust myself but used a frozen one. Other than that, this  one didn’t have any changes to it.

Here’s how it turned out!

Apple Crumble Tart

Apple Crumble Tart
(from Made in Quebec: A Culinary Journey by Julian Armstrong)

Serves 6-8

Ingredients

Pastry for single- crust, 9-inch pie
2 tbsp butter
5 cooking apples, peeled, cored, and cut in 1 inch pieces
1 tbsp granulated sugar
pinch ground cinnamon
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 2/3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1/2 cup butter, cut in small pieces and softened

  1. Preheat the oven to 400F.
  2. In a large, heavy frying pan, melt butter over medium heat and cook apples, turning to saute on all sides just until golden and caramelized. Combine granulated sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle over apples. Transfer to pie shell.
  3. In a bowl, mix together brown sugar and oats, then add butter and mix into oat mixture with your fingers.  Spead oat topping over apples in pie shell.
  4. Bake for 25 minutes or until topping is crisp and lightly browned. Cool on a rack to room temperature before serving.

One of the hardest parts of making apple crumble tart (and it isn’t really a hard recipe) is to find the perfect texture for the apples and find that good balance between the tartness of the apples and the sweetness along with making a good topping with a nice bite to it. I’ve done a few of this recipes and sometimes, I don’t post everything. While I didn’t use the pie crust from this recipe that they specified, the apples were done really well. Usually I wouldn’t cook them first so I find recipes that take the easy way  out however, I did realize that cooking them first and getting them caramelized was a good move. It helped flavors it more. It is definitely a step a plan to take again.

This didn’t particularly take a long time to make and honestly, I’d even use this as an apple crisp recipe if I didn’t have the crust. It would still work out, I believe. Maybe I’ll try that out again. Its been ages since I’ve made apple crisp anyways.

3 thoughts on “Dessert: Apple Crumble Tart

Leave a Reply

