Dinner: Roasted Endives with Thyme

Its been quite some time since I last posted up a recipe and here we are! I went on a cooking craze so here we are!!

I’ve been wanting to try out cooking endives for quite some time now. A few weeks ago I went out to Atwater Market in Montreal and came back with a ton of vegetables. Of course, I picked up some endives. After looking at some recipes, we decided to do this simple recipe which we also happened to have all the ingredients. That is definitely a plus. 😉

Also, the recipe below is for 4-5 endives but I only had three so I made little adjustments.

Roasted Endives with Thyme
(recipe from: http://naturallyella.com/roasted-endives-with-thyme)

Roasted Endives with Thyme

Ingredients

4-5 Endives
2 tbsp olive oil, divided
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
2 tsp thyme, minced
3-4 tbsp toasted bread crumbs

  1. Preheat oven to 425F. Slice the endives in half lengthwise and toss with two teaspoons olive oil, salt and pepper. Place in a roasting pan and bake for 15 to 20 minutes until endives are tender and starting to brown.
  2. Heat 4 remaining teaspoons of olive oil in a small skillet until warm. Remove from heat, add thyme and when endives are done, drizzle the olive oil/thyme on top and sprinkle with toasted bread crumbs.

That’s it! Easy, right?  Still, as I type this up, I realized that I did make some small changes other than a slight adjustment of portions. The main thing is that we ran out of black pepper. Horrible, I know. So instead of using salt and pepper, we ended up using The Keg steak spice. Also, we completely forgot about the toasted bread crumbs so that was omitted. Another thing is that we recently swapped out olive oil to avocado oil. I’m not sure if that would affect the taste.

However, it turned out absolutely delicious. I haven’t had endives many times but it turns out that I like the texture of the vegetable, plus this one blends in simple spices. Definitely an efficient and easy meal to make and that is exactly how I like recipes to be since I’m not such a skilled cook.

Do you eat endives? How do you cook them?

3 thoughts on “Dinner: Roasted Endives with Thyme

  1. This one interested me. My husband often travelled when he was a working man, sometimes to Belgium. My son also worked for the Swiss government for three years as a diplomat in Brussels (we even call them Brusseler in Switzerland). They both learnt the meaning of the endive, and I believe they were a Belgian development, but am not sure. Anyhow the Belgians have hundreds of recipes. We even adopted the belgian name “witloof” for this vegetable in our half Swiss half english household. It is a vegetable I usually cook in the colder seasons, Autumn and Winter, as it seems to be the time of year for them. They taste better and are also cheaper. I do not do a lot with them. Just cut them in half, remove the bitter part of the inside stalk at the bottom and fry them in butter, seasoned with salt and pepper. Takes about 20 minutes in the pan and serves as a quick veg to a meal. The Belgians tend to wrap them in ham, pour a bechemel sauce over them and bake them in the oven, but I suppose they are the experts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

