My Weekly Adventures: Mini Staycation and Accomplishments!

We’re finally here! End of spring or summer coming around the corner means everything is busier.  I’m starting to want to do actual weekly posts and they will be reserved for Sundays, most probably.  It might be a summer exclusive deal but we’ll see.  I’m deciding between this being weekly or alternating biweekly with this and workout updates.  I need to desperately get back to being more active so I need to stay accountable in some way and a few years back when I started, posting up the activities helped a lot! What do you think? Any interest?

The last two weeks have to be the most successful and on track looking back at my upcoming posts section. I managed to cover almost everything I said I would. I’m also looking at changing Netflix A-Z in the next round to a once a week thing to accommodate space for everything I cover so each day of the week even if not set will cover something different from movies to books to recipes to TV Binge and that sort of thing. We still need to stay relatively realistic because well, apparently turning 30 means I need more sleep, at least that is what my body has been telling me. However, you may see some form of structure slowly emerge.  It is already in a way, with designated days for Netflix A-Z and Podcast for starters.  The key is finding a balance of structure and spontaneity, if that even exists.

That probably could’ve been its own section in updates.  I know its been a lot of thoughts and new plans and whatnot right now, I’m working really hard to make this little space better and more consistent.

Regardless, let’s check out the last two weeks!  Its full of family, friends, and food, oh…and gardening! 😉

Potluck and Game Night with Friends

Cards Against Humanity

Cards Against Humanity

Desserts

Part of the desserts at the potluck

So…I didn’t take a lot of pictures here. Honestly, I wasn’t feeling well for the entire week.  I don’t know if its the weather or just fatigue or everything combined together.  You know, life just rears its ugly face and I hated it all so I slept a lot and didn’t eat much.  Saturday came around and I promised my friend that I’d finally make it all the way across the West Island of Montreal and lucky me, the bridge was also closed for construction so it took a mini detour which took 50 minutes to get there.  However, despite all the long trek, I started feeling better. Its nice to hang out with friends and catch up. I didn’t know a lot of people there very well but nothing is a better icebreaker than food and Cards Against Humanity. However, it also is hard to cater to what people will choose when you don’t know what makes them laugh so I won the first round with “Wet Dreams” card and then after that, the cards just got worse and much harder to play. Still, it was ton of fun! 🙂

Mother’s Day Celebration

Dinner

Yay! Mother’s Day! My mom cooks for us a lot and she always is fantastic at it all.  We are far from anywhere near her great food but we offered to cook her dinner.  We made all the food at our place and brought it over. We made a Oven Baked Chicken, Oven-roasted vegetables, Pan-fried Asparagus and Broiled Shrimp. I ended that with a dessert that I posted about last week called Peanut Butter and Jelly Cupcakes. You can find the recipe HERE, if you are interested!

How did you celebrate Mother’s Day?

New YouTube Podcast: Game Warp with my co-host Elwood Jones

You can find all the info: Facebook page, Twitter and Youtube channel over in this post I did for this announcement right HERE.

What game(s) are you playing? Any recommendations?

Mini Staycation

This weekend was a mini staycation.  I had a huge rush end at work and some work misunderstanding needed to be regulated with my vacation, so I decided to take two days to help fix that situation. That’s right! Long weekend! I actually thought about it and decided that I needed to take advantage of the upcoming good weather during this weekend, even if rain was forecast on Wednesday evening for part of the weekend and a dip in temperature, to get my gardening project done.  I ended up doing a lot more stuff than just that. Let me show you!

First up is the morning before going to get supplies for the project, I saw on Pinterest something called Bee Bath and I thought it would be super cute.  I put this together from stuff I found at the dollar store. I think I need to tweak it a little but I need some more research.

wp-1463185886892.jpg

This little rose is a warrior, my friends. You may remember it from the Valentine’s Day post.  It had the most miserable time inside the house and then it died so I put it outside, or so I thought.  I peeked outside last weekend to assess what needed to be taken care and it was alive with green leaves and the whole nine yards. I got a new rose bush already but as I cleaned up the little front flower patch, my chrysanthemum was done so it had an empty space so I transplanted it there.

wp-1463185942137.jpg

Moving on to the feature project.  This area is supposed to be a vegetable garden area, except my previous owners didn’t care for the garden so its ALL covered in weeds and grass. The project was to clear out the entire area.  This is what was there at the end of the first day.  I technically had like a half day with lots of breaks to cool down and hydrate because it was 25 degrees Celsius.

wp-1463185996903.jpg

By the end of the second day, this is what I accomplished. That’s roughly a quarter of the vegetable patch.

wp-1463186022304.jpg

However, Friday was cut short for a family gathering with my husband’s family which I’ll talk about in the next section. But the next day, I decided to weed and ended up making the front lawn look beautiful and started doing a part of the backyard before being ambushed by rain. No pictures of that, but we should have another project to do a raised flower garden this summer. My husband and I are discussing it.

Family Time!

Friday evening was for a family gathering with my husband’s family with his parents and his sister’s family. His parents made a beautiful meal with fresh bread, vegetables, cooked broccoli and cauliflower, salad, roast beef and potatoes. We bought some dessert: carrot cake and Milles Feuilles pastries.

wp-1463186056556.jpg wp-1463186075728.jpg

I think we started a new tradition this evening playing with the face swap app.  While I don’t have the picture of the actual face swap and this picture is super blurred but this just shows how much fun we were having.  My husband and our brother in law did a face swap and it turned out hilarious.  He did this masked thing around his eyes and somehow it ended up that my husband had fingers sprouting out of his head and no teeth while our brother in law had fingers surrounding his eyes and three sets of teeth.  Then he went on and did a face swap with hand-drawn napkin boy and it worked!

wp-1463186101888.jpg

My definition of a great family gathering: wine for the ladies, beer for the men, great company, delicious food and enough laughter that our jaws were hurting. Love it! 🙂

Saturday: Accomplishments and Mega Motivation!

Yesterday was incredibly amazing.  The original plan was to go to Ottawa Comiccon and the plans fell through last minute so my husband had taken time off for that so we ended up having an early start.  We went out for a little date to grab breakfast and Ben and Florentine’s.

Ben and Florentine

Tropical Green Tea!

Ben and Florentine's

“Big Ben” breakfast: Two eggs with Bacon, Sausage and Ham and replaced potatoes with their hash brown style potatoes

Ben and Florentine's

I came home to go for my first run of the season.  It was short at around 30 minutes and running only 2.99 miles. That is way below my time last year but point is, I finally got myself back outside. It was a little tough but I managed to get to a 3 mile (kind of) that I wanted. The running app was going a little crazy so I didn’t manage to figure out how far I was.

When I came home, it was right away to start weeding as I talked about before and that was my whole day. I made myself a nice dinner, which is incredibly rare.  By the ending, my husband and I got together and started playing the next featured game for Game Warp Podcast, Life is Strange.

Life is Strange

We got through 2 episodes by the time I needed to go to bed, which turned out to be a failure because intense insomnia was hitting me and I didn’t end up falling asleep until 3am. Still, a long and tiring but extremely rewarding day full of accomplishments!

Garden Update!

This is getting really long so just a short chat! Everything is looking healthy.  Plus, the orchid finally bloomed! And the Clematis finally came back.  It was looking so miserable last year. I thought it wouldn’t make it! 🙂

Is your garden ready for the season? Any upcoming garden projects?

Cute Kitty Time!

Cat

Our Gaming Companion

Upcoming:

  • Netflix A-Z Second Round Wrap-Up: X-Z
  • TV Binge & Book Review
  • Foodie Stuff!

 

8 thoughts on “My Weekly Adventures: Mini Staycation and Accomplishments!

Leave a Reply

