The Funhouse of Horrors by Jazan Wild

It seems like romance or horror has been a huge focus here.  Well, its not stopping yet. After some weird random romance reads, I decided to switch things up and go read some horror. This was also a free book on Amazon when I downloaded a little while back.  I’m still on the quest to read everything I haven’t read yet. Next up is The Funhouse of Horrors by Jazan Wild.  I don’t know Jazan Wild before this book (and I probably should…I’m sorry). And I haven’t heard of Funhouse of Horrors but that sounds like a video game and you know, I’m hoping it will send some chills down my back. 😉

Let’s check it out!

The Funhouse of Horrors
By Jazan Wild

The funhouse of horrors

Young Jacob, while on a family picnic, stumbles upon an old abandoned house in the woods just a week before Halloween. The wretched dwelling is being prepared to be used as a one-night only Haunted House! A strange worker, known only as Ole Scratch, sees Jacob and gives him a book with two tickets inside that change his life — or what’s left of it after the ghosts are done with him! And the ghosts are NEVER done with Jake.
As he grows, so does the terror. Deciding that the ghouls and goblins are never going to take a hint, and leave him to rest in peace, Stone decides to become a ghost writer. It would seem that the living impaired have a lot to say. Yet legend has it, that all who read Stone’s tales of woe, begin to see the dead everywhere they go! – Goodreads

I’m not exactly sure I agree with the description on Goodreads but I guess it gives it a bit more mystery.  Do the people who read his tales start to see the dead and is that a legend? I think the version I read might have skipped over that part or I misunderstood it. Or maybe I was just getting a little frustrated on how it was dragging on that I didn’t pay much attention.  The Funhouse of Horrors is not bad and its not great.  Its somewhere in the middle between indifferent and average.

The best way to describe The Funhouse of Horrors is an anthology of short stories, you know, Goosebumps but short stories with not so great pacing.  Most of them aren’t particularly scary with a few exceptions.  The majority of them overstay their welcome but I think its Jake’s backstory that does that the most.  I don’t think there was one moment I felt truly sorry for him or did I feel that he deserved to get out of this “nightmare”. On the other hand, the part about Ole Scratch and that character, while feeling like he was a little goofy, did feel like the better part of the novel.

I’m not a connoisseur of horror books.  I don’t claim to have read a ton of them but this one didn’t work well at keeping me motivated to read it.  I would always gauge to see how long the chapter would take to finish.  However, the potential is there. Some parts didn’t work well. But the stories had a good bit going for it.  The only issue was that it lacked a good pace to keep it engaging.  There were some stories that felt not quite so unique but then some few also made me a feel a little chill run down my spine.  That should be the whole novel since I’m especially scared of anything related to souls and ghosts.

The Funhouse of Horrors is an average read.  There’s definitely some potential here but it suffers from some bad pacing.  There are some stories that are fun to read, a few that a little scary and some that really overstay their welcome.  The main character, Jake wasn’t very likable in my book but the stranger that traps him in this cursed life, Ole Scratch is very entertaining to reads.  Some of the most entertaining parts is him.  While I’m not a huge fan of this one, I do feel like maybe Jazan Wild’s other series, Carnival of Souls might have something more to offer and I might give that one a go to see if it intrigues me a little more.

Have you read The Funhouse of Horrors? 

Leave a Reply

