Book Review: Never Mind My Thigh Gap by Sarah Newton

Wow! Its been a long time since I reviewed a book.  Don’t worry. I have a few coming up but we’re here to take care of some business!

First off, I received this book in exchange for an honest review! Thanks so much for sending it to me!

Now, let’s check out this lovely book recently released on February 14th, 2016.

Never Mind My Thigh Gap
By: Sarah Newton & Bronte Huskinson

Never Mind My Thigh Gap

“One ordinary girl, one extraordinary moment” Alice is tall – just under six feet to be exact – but her self-esteem couldn’t be smaller. When her relationship starts wavering, Alice’s perfectly beautiful best friend somehow convinces her to join a modelling competition, “for a confidence boost.” But Alice is just a normal girl; she loves ice cream too much, has an unhealthy addiction to American TV and lusts after the elusive thigh gap. She can’t even walk in heels, let alone in a bikini, but she finds herself joining Runway Models anyway.  The finale is only a few months away.  Will Alice catwalk her way to self-confidence or fail, proving everyone right? People can surprise you. – Goodreads

Goodreads rating: 3/5 stars

Never Mind My Thigh Gap is a decent novel.  It reads rather well and the writing is pretty good also.  I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect going in as is usually the case with any indie books.  However, the message it wants to give is very meaningful.  When I was in high school, I could relate to what Alice was going through.  I wasn’t pretty as it was described for her here and I guess in a way, I saw a different side of what the “popular” girls were doing also.  Its a story about finding yourself, pretty much a coming of age for our main character as she learns what is valuable to her, find the self-confidence and believe that she is great the way she is, even with her obsessions and flaws.  She didn’t need to be with the popular kids and she just needed friends who would accept her for who she was no matter how different they were. The heart of the novel never gets lost in any of this.

Most YA novel does suffer a little from some story flow issues and some awkward dialogue.  Never Mind My Thigh Gap is the same thing.  However, I do believe that this is just how you’ve experienced high school or say, how each of us was as a teenager.  This book is not directed towards me and while I can remember high school even if it was over 10 years now, I never quite remembered talking like that but the idea of falling into traps and watching the cool kids and indirectly seeing their problems being rumored about and whatnot was a thing that happened.  By far, the most relatable theme that mostly any girl (or even guy) could get is the concept of self-image.  How do we perceive ourselves and how do we be comfortable and confident with not only who we are but how we look. That message getting through gets all the points for Never Mind My Thigh Gap.  I remember doing that not even just in high school but even some days now, I fall into that same thing.

However, this novel also has one thing that didn’t quite work so much for me.  It sells itself based on the Runway Model competition being the centre of where she finds herself but, we actually don’t experience a whole lot of Alice being in the competition.  It does linger in the background and a lot of the friendships and relationships are changed and warped because of her joining it but its never the competition that does any of this, or maybe I’m just missing the point. Never Mind My Thigh Gap is a story about teens going through this and just because of a situation changing their views about themselves because they opened up their world to accepting something different and finding where they belong.

Overall, Never Mind My Thigh Gap is a decent read.  It keeps its readers interested and intrigued and it carries a good message for the audience its directed to. Even if it doesn’t quite deliver on more detailed competition portion, it does do a good job at highlighting teenage high school struggles with friends and self-confidence and loyalties.

One thought on “Book Review: Never Mind My Thigh Gap by Sarah Newton

Leave a Reply

