Netflix A-Z: Baby Blues (2013)

Next up, we’re at the B selection! This is kind of obscure choice and I don’t even know why I started it up in the first place. I might have been just something for background noise when I was typing up posts and then I fell short on time and thought it would be good to review it for the heck of it for this series. So, here we are with Baby Blues, a Hong Kong horror. There is one reason I rarely watch Hong Kong horror and that is because most of the time, its slightly lame. If a movie can’t scare me, then the movie is really bad because I get scared really easily.

Before we get to the review, I would like to say that for the rest of the month, I’m going to work extra hard to try and fit in as many 2015 movies as possible.  Which means that it’ll be trying to get some of the 2015 movies on Netflix.  It doesn’t mean that I’m preparing for awards season because most of those are probably still in theatres but I usually give it a fair run to try to catch up with a few more movies from the previous year just to feel a little more up to date. So, other than Netflix being in 2015 zone (as much as the selection allows me to), there will be more movie reviews than normal. I know that because as I’m drafting this, I’ve already watched several.

With that said, let’s check out Baby Blues!

Baby Blues (2013)

Baby Blues 2013

Director: Po-Chih Leong

Cast: Raymond Lam, Sing Kwan Janelle, Karena Ng, Kate Tsui, Hoi-Pang Lo

When a young couple moves into a home, they find a mysterious doll that changes their lives forever.-IMDB

First of all, I watched Baby Blues first, because I’m a serious blogger for movie reviews and I believe that I can’t judge a movie from just listening to it.  It was a good choice because as I did a little bit more research for the cast and whatnot, I realized that Baby Blues was originally released in 3D which explains why they did certain things. Second, I make it a point that I don’t keep dolls.  I mean, I like plush Disney toys or My Little Pony and you know, Funko Pop! figures and other collectibles but I’ve never owned a doll.  To be honest, they kind of freak me out. And this doll is freaking ugly.  In no world or universe would it be something left over from the previous owner, if I was buying a new place, that I would keep, especially knowing that Chinese people believe in reincarnation and that spirits can hide in absolutely anything.  So, you know what, Baby Blues was bound to fail from the start for me because I can’t even extend my belief to that.  Except, I went through with it because you know what, it deserves a chance.  After all, it did have Raymond Lam and he is a talented Hong Kong series actor that I do quite like. Then, Kate Tsui pops up, who is also a popular Hong Kong TV actress. So I continued on, hoping that at some point it would be good.  Except it didn’t….

Baby Blues

**Spoiler alert (for this paragraph)**

Oh My Gosh, was this so bad! It didn’t have anything to do with the cast.  It was just the story was so dumb and ridiculously lame. Right from the get-go, picture this, you move in, and make some sweet love with your husband and then look up and the freaking doll is standing at your doorway.  They just chuckle, ignore it and get back right to the action. Excuse me! The doll was crying tears of blood! Are you crazy? I’d have postponed the love-making and tossed the damn doll into the fire before getting back to it. Okay, I take a deep breath and I go along with this.  The characters know nothing about this but as we watch this, they start making crazy decisions, the wife gets pregnant and has twins, one of them are a stillborn and she gets baby blues and starts hallucinating that the doll is her other child. In between all this, every time something goes wrong, this doll haunts them and we, the audience know that, because it starts adding in a normal evil laugh and it spins around pointing its finger and through its eyes, we can see who its trying to manipulate. At the same time, the old man across the street keeps telling them to move and that if they have twins, they are in danger.  They never ask for the reasoning and just laugh at him. Not to mention, the doll has moving mechanisms so it even has the strength to push a baby across the floor as it walks. *rolls eyes*

Baby Blues

The actors do what they can with the script. I can promise you that.  Its the crappy effects and the lame doll and the nonsensical story that makes it so hard to feel any immersion into Baby Blues. I’ve seen a few Hong Kong horrors and this one definitely ranks way at the bottom of the barrow.  What boggles my mind is why Raymond Lam and Kate Tsui took this project on? They could be doing a thousand better things with their talent, but then, it could be just the fault of the crumbling Hong Kong entertainment industry (but that is a discussion for another day). If there was one good thing, it was the last hurrah against the doll.

Overall, Baby Blues is a really bad movie.  Its a horror that makes you laugh, a thriller that makes you bored, and a drama that just falls flat.  I can understand why they made the doll point its fingers if it was for the 3D effects but it seemed pointless in 2D so it wouldn’t have made much of a difference with all the nonsense it packs into approximately 90 mins run time. I’m not usually so harsh on movies but I know that Hong Kong entertainment can do better than this and it angers me that something like this even exists to waste our time.

Have you seen Baby Blues? What are your thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Netflix A-Z: Baby Blues (2013)

Leave a Reply

