My Weekly Adventures!

We’re back on track! These coming weekly adventures should be more tame and back to my normal updates. Festival season is coming to a close and while there are a few events scattered around, its definitely focusing back onto the house stuff.  I can’t believe that closing the garden is coming up really soon.

First of all, I’d like to apologize on a little issue I had with emails. The beginning of the week, I realized that I wasn’t getting any emails linked to WordPress forwarded to my own personal email. Which is how I do things since I can’t manage to many accounts and remember to check them all.  Apparently, that is the case because I didn’t delete for years anything in the account linked to WordPress, it was full so nothing came in.  When I realized that 2 days later, I finally managed to empty it out and 500 emails (approximately) poured into my email.  So now, I’m back to catching up with posts.  Deal with me as I manage this little hiccup.  My mind has been rather preoccupied and I’m falling behind all over again. I’ll be back on track soon enough 🙂 At least its resolved, right?

Now, lets see what adventures I’ve been on!

1) Meeting new friends & trying new places!

Its great how upcoming weddings are the perfect opportunity to meet lots of new people, like my fiance’s co-workers, at least two of them.

They live relatively near to us in the suburbs of Montreal and one of them lives near this restaurant called Poutineville. This actually happened the week earlier but this last post was already so packed that I ended up shifting it to this one instead.  If you don’t know, poutine is this fries, gravy and curd cheese fast food.  Obviously, I’ve had to give it up since my lactose intolerance gained control of my life again.  Still, this restaurant is pretty awesome.  Other than the fact that the A/C broke that day and I was dying of heat, adding on the fatigue of dress shopping all day before this, I wasn’t all too hungry, but the guys were and I had a little something also of course.

Poutineville

Regular-size Poutine with Pepper sauce, extra cheese, pepperoni, philly steaks

Poutineville

2 Hot dogs and fries

And then we headed off to Boucherville to try out this ice cream place called Chocolat Favoris (translation: Favorite Chocolate) which is owned by a popular day time TV host called Gino Chouinard in Quebec.  Its special because you can order 5 different sizes of ice cream and they coat it with whatever coating you’d like which comes in 12 different flavors (5 milk chocolate, 3 dark chocolate, 2 white chocolate and 2 surprise flavors in rotation). Its pretty amazing.  The guys took hazelnut milk chocolate, I think.

Choclat Favoris

Choclat Favoris

Chocolat Favoris

Chocolate Favoris: Medium size with Hazelnut Milk Chocolate coating

They also served sorbets with a decent selection and other candies and chocolates.  Its a pretty nice place. Plus, Guy Chouinard was standing at the door to greet us after a block-long lineup.  It was super crazy! But it was worth it.  We even took a stroll around the neighborhood and chatted a little.  It was a nice little evening out with friends and that’s what counts 🙂

And since I wasn’t feeling great enough to try the lactose-free cheese poutine, we have another dinner out coming right up.

2) Garden update: A new perennial

The garden isn’t all doing well.  I made a few bad choices in plants this year but I think next year should be better.  I’ll hopefully get the vegetable garden plot ready before winter arrives. I’m just waiting for the day that its not 40C with 90% humidity.   We don’t have A/C so its a little crazy.  We did makeshift something that worked.  Thank goodness the weather is more bearable now.

Flower

Flower

However, last week, while doing some pool and plumbing shopping, I found a new perennial that fits perfectly in my side plot on the front lawn.  That plot is seriously almost all my own creation now from spring bulbs to summer flowers to fall blooms.  I’m pretty proud of it.

3) Wedding planning update

This is kind of my life now.  Between a balance of house work, blog, actual work, wedding planning and working out.  Its kind of a crazy schedule.  I have to say, my friends are phenomenal in helping me right now. All my girls have helped out tremendously especially at finding those details that I forget to think about.  The list just keeps growing and the time is drawing closer and closer.  Less than 2 months and we still have cake and centerpieces at the top of our list to take care of.  At least this weekend, we managed to narrow down what to do for the centerpiece and got most of the little accessories, shoes, guest book, decorations and the likes.

I can’t show you everything but here are the lovely shoes that I got at Call it Spring! 🙂

wpid-20150823_074927.jpg

4) Running/workout update

Good news in workout updates is that I’m back out running.  Between two times of Zumba a week, spending some time with my mom and going out shopping on at least one day of the weekend for wedding planning duties, its been hard to get in.  I usually try to do one evening run and one Saturday morning run.  Its the goal and sometimes it doesn’t work out but I try my best. At least, if anything, I’ve cut out a good bit of unhealthy snacks replacing it with lactose-free yogourt, fruits and healthy granola bars.

Nothing too much to say, I just need to get back into the toning exercises instead of getting mostly cardio in to balance it a little.  A short update this time around.

5) Matsuri Japanese Festival

Two years ago, I talked about the Matsuri Festival.  Last year, because of the house, I skipped most of the festivals but hey, we’re back this year.  Yay! It was a steaming hot day right in the middle of our crazy heat wave and we baked under the sun while lining up at these crazy long lines. I don’t remember last time being so intense.  It seems to be the trend this year.  Everyone loves to get out of the house when its scorching hot.  But its normal.  We do only get like 3 months of “summer” where one month actually feels hot and that varies every year 😉

Matsuri 2015

I was so hungry when I got there that I totally forgot about taking pictures of the food.  I had some Imadaki, Takoyaki, Okonamiyaki Hot Dog, Cold Noodles and Kakigori as well. It was a fantastic day with some cute performances.  Up there is this activity where they are trying to do a dance with the audience along with some super kawaii music.  Thats the extent of my Japanese so yeah…it was cute.

6) 1000 Islands Cruise

This past weekend on the Sunday, my fiance had gotten ourselves and his parents and my mom tickets off of Groupon for a 1000 Islands Cruise at Brockville.  We did the one at Ganonoque a few years back and he loved it.  This one was 90 minutes (a step down from the last one) and in a city we hadn’t been to so it was a new experience all around.

1000 Islands, Brockville

1000 Islands, Brockvill

I’ll be doing a full post with more pictures but here’s a few that I liked.

7) Podcast and upcoming on Tranquil Dreams

If you haven’t caught it, I was part of my first podcast EVER over as a guest at That Moment In.  It turned out pretty good 🙂 David and I talked about Jack and the Cuckoo Clock Heart and we dived a little into the characters and themes, the music and whatnot.  It was so much fun! I was a little nervous when it started and settled in a little more.  Point is: it all worked out 🙂

As for upcoming posts:

  • Continuing the new segment Netflix A-Z: Next letter is D. Remember double feature and a huge thanks to all of you for commenting so much.  Those posts are possibly one the ones with the most comments.  I appreciate it SO MUCH!!!
  • Recipe for Disney Baking Project & move along with the next feature: This is now one of my priorities. Last two weeks was just too hot that I couldn’t do any baking without having some form of heat stroke in my own house.  So I have everything at least, just need to get it done some time this week!
  • Alaska Cruise on Norwegian Jewel: Continuing the vacation posts
  • Music/Youtube Obsessions: Comedy edition 

I’m keeping it short for those since that’s already a lot on my plate. Plus, I have some posts I owe to you lovely people.  You know who you are 😉  I have everything set up to take care of business! Plus, I’ve already started compiling the Halloween marathon (did I talk about this before?) but still, I’m pretty excited about it even though, I doubt it’ll be as plentiful as previous years since wedding date is in October so lots of crazy already happening.  It might end up being a half a month thing unless I get everything done in advance.  Which is what I’m trying to do now but the most I can get ahead with is 2 days.  I need to channel that pre-vacation energy…

To wrap it up, here’s  a little music!

That’s all for now! Happy Wednesday, my lovelies!! 🙂

16 thoughts on “My Weekly Adventures!

  1. I hear you on falling behind and having to catch up! Haha! Also, I love those shoes! Congrats on the upcoming nuptials 🙂 And good for you on the exercise front! I’m so bad for working out. I just hate it so much, haha! You’re an inspiration!

    Also, mmmmm…. Poutine….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Damn you are a busy busy bee with all the stuff your are doing. I feel lazy compared to what you have done. Congrats for your upcoming wedding. I will check out the podcast you did with That Moment in Later this week

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Hope you enjoy it! Our second podcast just went live today also 🙂
      Things are slowing down now so these weekly adventures will taper off soon 😉
      I have only have one more outing set for September and nothing else planned.

      Like

  3. It’s great to have you on the show. I’m really excited about our new series.
    I love your images and am so happy that you’re getting married soon (I know we talked about this already). The Finger Lakes are so beautiful, aren’t they? It’s been a while since I’ve been there.
    Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

