Seasonal Segment Revival: My Weekly Adventures!

My Weekly Adventures (just like travel and vacation) will be a seasonal segment 😉 I go out a whole lot more in the summer as Montreal livens up a lot and has a ton of events.  This year, May’s been a whirlwind so to kick this off is a special month long event of May along with some upcoming things you can expect.  Reason for this is that: I know I’ve been taking it easy on here.  I really needed a break to get my thoughts together and find some energy and motivation. Between moving and house stuff, its been quite hectic.  Plus, I’ve been in and out of town during May.  I haven’t spent one weekend at home.  The fact that I’ve had even 5 posts going up scheduled (and that’s massively thanks to all those late nights doing contributions to other blogathons and segments on other awesome and amazing blogs).

Let’s check out the May insanity!!

1) Vacation to Seattle and Alaska

Norwegian Jewel

Our cruise ship parked offshore in Icy Point Strait

I did a post back at the end of April or early May before I headed off to vacation so some of you already know about it. My first cruise ever and after 11 days, over 2200 pictures from the trip.  I’m going to be posting about those gradually over June but not last past vacations where I do a daily recap.  That would be a massive post and I’ll only select the best of the best that represent the places I went to.  I’ll also give a cruise recap on how I felt about this cruising experience on Norwegian and I have a little fun addition that I’m putting together in memory of the new acquaintances I had on the trip.

2) Ottawa Marathon Weekend

Ottawa Marathon 2015

No, no! I didn’t do a marathon.  Just like last year, I headed down with my friend who did the half marathon.  This time, we also had a friend do the 10K so we hung out, shopped, ate and all that good stuff.  It was pretty fun 🙂 We ate brunch at a place called Zak’s Diner which is rather delicious.

Zak's Diner

And due to strict budget after vacation, I went down to get some really good Rose Wines and a ridiculously expensive but I know is worth it sports bra at Victoria’s Secret.  That’s pretty much what it was all about.  I also got exposed to the 7 day TV event called 500 Questions and because I’m a nerd, I loved it. I’ll probably do a review of it since I came home and started tracking the episodes the week after.

 3) Officially training for a 10K marathon!

Nike rRunning app

I haven’t posted about workouts in a while.  Ever since I talked about it a few months ago, I have gotten back into it and if the cruise was not only full of breathtaking sceneries, my downtime included a lot of working out.  Going out to the marathon weekend, the night after, I downloaded the Nike Running app and set up the coaching program to train for a 10K.  I’m not a runner so I’m ridiculously slow in pace.  I only completed my first week and it looks like that up there. I’m on my second week right now and Montreal is having really shitty weather so its not exactly motivating but then, when I have these programs, I get really competitive. If weekly adventures doesn’t have anything else, it’ll be where I’ll be updating you on my progress.

The goal right now: 5K of some sort somewhere around Montreal and then end goal is 10K in Ottawa next year with a decent time.

Bring it on!!!

4) Wedding in Toronto

IMG_0530

As exhausting as it was, my niece (don’t ask, I have a enormous and complicated family) got married over the weekend.  I’ve never seen her before but family events are always fun, so I was my mom’s +1.  On top of that, I had to go to get some new glasses because its way more worth it even with the gas prices being ridiculously high. It actually felt good to be the one in control of my own transportation in the past month. Anyways, the wedding was held in Markham at Angus Glen Golf Club and the venue was very nice along with some very good food.  It started off up to the ceremony in a massive downpour but eventually cleared up a little before having a little drizzle again.

IMG_0516

IMG_0537

Other than seeing family and cousins, it really emphasized on seeing my cousin’s kids so yeah, more nephews mostly.  Haha! I’m definitely starting to feel old. Still, it was a very fun time and that’s what is most important.

5) Gardening begins!!

Right after I got back from Alaska, I went to the greenhouse that I frequent and bought some gardening.  Sowing seeds are not my forte so maybe that’s an adventure I’ll take some time to master.  For now, we got these ones up there along with some Sweet Basil, Rosemary and Greek Oregano which is happily inside the house. My calla lily is also very good. I’ll have pictures of those next time 😉 Also, I had to buy another Clematis and Campanula because my lack of experience murdered those last year.  This year, I’m giving a second shot at Ground Cherry and Stevia.  With a little more experience, I’m hoping it’ll be better.

We’re keeping it simple this year: The focus is on less plants and weeding and organizing/maintaining the lawn to look better so its ready for bigger and better projects next year! I think thats a solid plan. What do you think?

6) Upcoming

TV Binge, Arcade Block Unboxing, Music Obsessions, more Movie Reviews (hopefully)….I have probably 10 posts sitting around waiting for me to write up.  I just can’t get it all together and live life all at the same time while not being in town on the weekends when I normally draft the majority of my posts early mornings or late nights.   I’m trying hard to get ahead of schedule instead of scrambling together a quick post the night before.  It worked for a while where I was 2 days ahead so let’s hope I can get back on that pattern. Oh right, and that recipe I’m missing for the Disney Project is coming right up! It’ll be a lot more simple than I first planned but I just want to kickstart this one. The next one will be more epic, hopefully!

And that wraps up My Weekly Adventures segment for the May monthly issue.  For now, I’ll leave you with this cute sign I saw in Ottawa.

wpid-20150523_141041.jpg

If you made it to the end, welcome back to Weekly Adventures and be sure to drop by again next week for more! 🙂

There’s a few festivals coming up this weekend so it’ll be a fun post! I promise!

8 thoughts on “Seasonal Segment Revival: My Weekly Adventures!

  1. Pingback: Seasonal Segment Revival: My Weekly Adventures!

Leave a Reply

