2014 Recap: Massive Thank Yous, Goals & Announcements!

For some of you its already New Year’s, depending where you are. For us in Montreal, its now 2015 and finally, I’ve gotten myself to find a few moments to put together this post. What started out as something I wanted to do a poll for has turned into something else.

I want somewhat of a more project oriented in 2015.  I hope to stick to it more because of that.  Last year, I didn’t have a lot of goals but was only trying to cut off segments to make Tranquil Dreams more focused and I realized that its not for me because I need to embrace my versatility.  It might sound like a lot but it gives me a chance to use different ways to get things done and different ways to destress and thats exactly how Tranquil Dreams came to be – embracing my passions and loves 🙂

cheers damon 1

First of all, I’d like to give a HUGE THANK YOU to everyone! Without you, Tranquil Dreams wouldn’t be where it is now.  Its been a good 4 years and its really helped me see how I’ve improved and its kept me going.  All the comments, likes and everything really has kept my motivation in check.  Plus, I’ve made a lot of friends over the years.

A few accomplishments in 2014 for me are:

  • Approximately 162 movies reviewed (including for blogathons)
  • Getting my TESL certificate in January
  • Having some new independent authors connect with me to review their novels
  • Being a featured blog on Freshly Featured 🙂

One of the biggest lessons I learned in 2014 is this:

2145c0aa-aa33-424d-b615-06f633f055aa

Now, 2014 is behind us and for 2015 I have some big plans! Some is still in the making.  My blogaversary is coming up mid January and I’ll have some things planned but for 2015 is all about putting in some long term projects.

For my personal goals, I’m shrinking it to just a few to focusing on Grade 10 Practical Piano exam and History 2 exam; keeping the 3 workouts per week and editing one novel from the past 3 years of NaNoWriMo (mostly because my best friend has been on my back about it).

For 2015 projects, I’m looking at at these:

  • 40 books (once again) for Goodreads goal: with more focus on independent authors and some iconic authors like Jane Austen for example!
  • Disney/cupcakes project: reviewing Disney projects and baking some cupcakes (decorative) reflecting that movie (to encourage the baking aspect)
  • 1001 movies before you die project (based on the book I got for Christmas from one of my friends)
  • Actor/Actress of a month (something similar to the Crush of the month thing I had mentioned before)

Its a bit last minute but what do you think about this? Any of these projects that appeals to you more? If you think about actors/actresses, who do you want to see me cover? Who are your favorite actors and actresses?

HAPPY NEW YEAR MY LOVELIES! 🙂

Raising a glass to all of you to a new year! Better goals and all the good stuff! 🙂

17 thoughts on “2014 Recap: Massive Thank Yous, Goals & Announcements!

    • Classics and superheros? That sounds great! I usually try to stay up to date with superhero movies 🙂 And I’m really loving checking classics, and that 1001 movies thing will have a good bit of those, I think 😉

      I was actually thinking of reading more classics this year..haha!

      Like

  1. Those projects sound awesome! I’ll look forward to them. And congrats on your achievements in 2014!
    Thanks for sharing your lesson. It’s something I need to keep in mind as well. Have a great New Year!

    Like

  2. Have a great 2015 Kim.

    Always love reading your stuff and having you contribute to my site.

    The thing I’ve learned about blogging is that you should write about what YOU want to write about because that will keep you more motivated.

    Let me know if I can help in any way

    Like

  3. I would love to have you on The As You Watch Podcast sometime in the near future. I love your plans for 2015. You should get in contact with Kristen Lopez of Journeys in Classic Films about your Disney cupcake idea

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy New Year! Thanks for making me one of those authors you supported last year. It is appreciated. Good luck with all your current goals – can’t wait to see what you come up with. When you do the actor/actress posts you should not only do current ones, but dig deep into the past. Bogart, Lon Chaney, etc. Just a thought or two on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Happy New Year! 🙂 I had a lot of fun reading all your work. Looking forward to reading more of it 🙂 And hopefully discover some new independent authors along the way also.

      Love the thought! I’m making a list of who I could do and how to approach it all. I’m trying to keep it mostly Netflix and my movie collection so I’ll see what I have on there 🙂 I do want to dig deep in the past though. Have a lot to catch up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

