The Girl In Between by Laekan Zea Kemp

This month, you should be seeing a good bit of book reviews.  I’m well behind on my reading challenge in Goodreads but thats all going to change 🙂

This next review is for a book by one of own bloggers and indie writer called Laekan Zea Kemp.  You can find her right HERE. She’s written a few other books before this one I’m reviewing called The Girl in Between. I’m definitely going to make time to give those a read as well.

A huge thanks to her for reaching out to me and  sending me a copy of her book to review.  I really appreciate this a lot.

THE GIRL IN BETWEEN (The Girl in Between #1)

by: Laekan Zea Kemp

the girl in between

Bryn has a rare disease called Klein-Levin Syndrome (KLS) that causes her to fall into a deep slumber for unknown periods of time.  During these periods, she enters into another world built by her memories.  That is until one day she finds a boy washed up on the shore unconscious and saves him.  He has no memories of why he’s here and she has never met him either so would he just be a figment of her imagination?  As time goes by, her symptoms gets worse and her body is deteriorating. A German experiment lead by Dr. Banz leads her to discover a little more about KLS and it makes her determined find out who this boy in her dreams is and to track him down before its too late.

First of all, I adore stories with multiple narration.  The Girl In Between fluctuates between the thoughts of Bryn and the strange boy.  Of course, I know the name of the boy but you have to read it to know what it is.  Its considered spoilers unfortunately.  One stuck in real world searching for the mysteries while the other stuck in dream state, unsure whether he is even real.  When an author uses this method, we get to know the characters a little better on both sides and I think that makes the story stronger.

The premise of The Girl in Between is rather original. Because its using the concept of being in another world and this world holds its own dangers as well.  Its a mystery what these dangers are and it makes us wonder if something paranormal is also in there along with the memories.  Although its about both Bryn and the boy, in her real life, we get a good look at her own personal struggles of losing weeks and months and even though she is just a teenager, it brings us to understand how she wants to try to be normal: go to college, have a  boyfriend, etc.

I always talk about pacing of a novel because its really important.  One of the reasons I fell behind in my reading challenge was starting a book that I just couldn’t get into and eventually I had to give it up because it just murdered me.  The Girl in Between is NOT one of those books.  It starts off really strong because it makes us want to understand Bryn and her situation and as we get more narratives of the boy trapped in her dreams, we also learn a little more about both of them.  As things worsen, it climaxes and then ends in somewhat of a cliffhanger.  I’m not a huge fan of those sorts of endings but somehow, I don’t really mind because guess what, the second book is available also.  I’m going to be picking up a copy of that one really soon.

Yes, I definitely recommend The Girl in Between.  Its an awesome book: premise is captivating, the characters are engaging and developing well, and the narration for both of the main characters is done very well. I had a lot of fun reading this one and I sure hope you give it a chance.

You can check out The Girl in Between and all of Laekan’s other novels and where they are available right HERE. The Girl in Between is currently available for FREE. Isn’t that awesome? I think it is! 🙂

These are all the links where you can find The Girl in Between and get yourself a copy:

One thought on “The Girl In Between by Laekan Zea Kemp

  1. Pingback: The Boy in Her Dreams (The Girl in Between #2) by Laekan Zea Kemp | Tranquil Dreams

Leave a Reply

