Halloween Marathon: Let Me In (2010)

I forgot to do that Halloween Marathon title for the previous movie…but I guess, I could go back and fix it.

Moving on, next up, I’ve been thinking of giving Let Me In a viewing for a really long time.  For those who don’t know, I’m a huge fan of Chloe Grace Moretz. Why? Because she does that good girl thing well and then she can do badass really well also and when she does badass, she can pull this batshit crazy thing in an awesome way.  So yeah, she’s creepy and seeing as Carrie is coming out right around the corner, why not visit this?

let me in posterDirector: Matt Reeves

Cast: Chloe Grace Moretz, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Richard Jenkins, Elias Koteas, Dylan Minnette, Cara Buono

12 year old Owen (Kodi Smit-McPhee) lives with his mom(Cara Buono) in an apartment complex.  At school, he is always bullied at school.  One night, a mysterious girl, Abby (Chloe Grace Moretz) moves in next door with his father (Richard Jenkins).  She starts hanging out with him in the playground and as he starts to like her more as she teaches him how to fight back to his bullies, he starts realizing that she is awkward at times.  Until her father dies in an accident,  people are murdered around and the police (Elias Koteas) get involved, he starts thinking that maybe there’s something more to Abby.

LET ME IN

I was so tempted to write “The Right Way to start a Halloween marathon” in the title.  I have no idea why Let Me In is rated R but they did have some creepy segments. Still, I loved it! It was totally awesome! It accentuates the garbage level of Area 407 (which I have come to terms with). Let Me In is a mystery horror drama flick.  Its not as much mystery as it is a very good balance of horror and drama mixed  together. For the record, I’ve never seen the original Let the Right One In but I have been wanting to, so I can’t compare at all.

let me in abby

One of the main reasons that I love this flick was that on one hand it had this very innocent vibe between Abby and Owen.  There’s a bit of mystery but the relationship is quite pure as they are kids even if Abby is more than that.  Plus, the second reason is of course Chloe Grace Moretz as Abby.  She does a really outstanding job at grasping her role.  She may have been obscure about what she was but she was always honest.  The character itself was a mix of a lot of stuff and it felt like at the same time, there was a lot of things she couldn’t control and it made her helpless in a way. Aside from her, there was a pretty decent supporting cast that helped deliver convincing roles that shaped the movie to what it became.

I don’t think I need to be all secretive but you all know that its a vampire movie, right?  I love vampire movies..so that makes it the third reason.I watch a lot of vampire related movies and TV.  Far from everything, but I’ve seen a fair share and consider me impressed.  That was the scary parts of this one.  The visuals of how Abby looked in vampire looked and moved was super scary in an awesome way. That was probably what earned the R-rating because it was out of the world creepy.  I had a moment of checking behind me just to make sure nothing was there. Plus, it had this creepy silent music to match with it.

LET ME IN

Point is, I loved Let Me In. It had a very awesome Chloe Grace Moretz who I see as a potentially great actress.  She was matched with a great supporting cast, especially her vibe with Kodi Smit-McPhee.  The young romance matched with a creepy vampire story really has a great vibe going.  Plus, the vampire is designed is a scary way that makes this fit right into the horror genre well. I’m building up the horror without even knowing it 🙂 I recommend this movie for sure!

Did you see Let the Right One In before? Is this a good remake? What do you think of Chloe Grace Moretz?

15 thoughts on “Halloween Marathon: Let Me In (2010)

  1. Not the best remake ever made, but not the worst either. Surprisingly very downbeat and vicious, much like the original and still worked in ways I didn’t expect it to. Good review Kim.

    Like

  2. Great work, Kim! This movie was fantastic – I did a double review of the both of them over on my site if you ever want to check ’em out. In the end, I went with the remake as better even though they are both great. I thought the remake had a little more action in it and a little more tension but you should TOTALLY see the Swedish one.

    Like

    • I have this feeling that I already checked it out! My mind has this endless of all these movies you’ve written about..haha! I’ll double check though 🙂
      I’ll have to search up the Swedish one…but that was what originally had peaked my interest but this will do for now 🙂

      Like

  3. I love Chloe Grace Moretz in Let Me In, but I love the movie Let the Right One In more. The latter rather than the former is more atmospheric, colder, and starker in tone. I found Let Me In too Hollywoodish, whereas the original was intense in emotion and in suggestion. Both are great movies, nonetheless!

    Great review, Kim!

    Like

  4. I loved Let the Right One In so was worried about seeing this. it turned out though that Let Me In is really great too. it doesn’t have the surprise factor of the original but its still extremely creepy. It’s actually more faithful to the book than the original swedish film

    Like

  5. Great review. 🙂 (I’m doing horribly on my Halloween marathon – haven’t watched anything yet!). I love the original of this but this was a good & pretty faithful remake. And Chloe Grace Moretz is a great actress. Looking forward to seeing her in Carrie.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Valentine’s Marathon: Romeo & Juliet (2013) | Tranquil Dreams

Leave a Reply

