Agatha Christie vs. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

This question has been been a huge debate for me during the last year.  Sure sounds like I have nothing better to do, but when you have been reading as long as I have, I’m guessing Classics turn into something of a debate (once in a while).

Agatha Christie or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle?

Last year through some coincidence, I came by the idea of reading several Agatha Christie’s novels featuring the investigations of Hercule Poirot.  Agatha Christie is considered the Queen of Mystery.  Have you read any of her books? I read And Then There Were None, Murder on the Orient Express, Hercule Poirot’s Christmas and Curtain: Poirot’s Last Case.  I still have a lot of reading to do because she doesn’t only create the character of Hercule Poirot but also the character of  Miss Marple which I have yet to explore.  Her stories are pretty amazing and a lot of times, it involves some sort of sudden unexpected twists in the end.  Hercule Poirot is a quiet Belgian man who has a quick mind and investigates a lot into details.  He has this ambiguous, vague way of showing his cases.  Its been a year since my last time I picked up one of her books.  And Then There Were None is the first book I read from Agatha Christie and I believe its also one of her most popular.  This one is an independent story and frankly, it may start a bit slow but it sets up this beautiful scenario so we know our characters and the flow of events are pretty awesome because it keeps you guessing all the way.  I’ll probably go back and write a better review eventually.  So Agatha Christie is definitely the Queen of Mystery to me and I’ve only read just a bit of her long list of novels.

On the other hand, the one who is more popular is our dear Sherlock Holmes.  Who created this character? The pioneer of mysteries himself, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  My first confession here is that I actually never finished  Hound of Baskerville. I’m currently reading The Adventure of Sherlock Holmes.  I will have a review on it when I’m done but so far, I’m about half way through the book.  I’ve read maybe about 5-6 short stories and I’m getting a jest of what his style is.  Maybe its because I’m older now so I appreciate his writing a lot more than when I first picked up Hound of Baskerville.  He has a pretty cool writing style.  Sherlock Holmes is all about the details in the case and that’s how he makes his deductions.  Its also the idea of the chemistry he has with Watson that makes the story interesting.  The stories are normally narrated by Watson’s point of view.

Point of this is that I’ve only recently dived into the world of both of these phenomenal mystery authors and I wonder what others think about them.  I subconsciously started to compare the two authors and wonder which one is more liked amongst other readers. As for me, I’m still undecided…and I’m guessing I should base my final preference after I’ve read other books.

So, Agatha Christie or Sherlock Holmes? Hercules Poirot or Sherlock Holmes?

Have you read novels from these authors?

If you have, what do you think about them? Do you prefer one over the other?

If you haven’t (and you are into reading fiction), what are you waiting for? Go and read them 🙂

Oh right, and if you have read them, suggest and recommend away! I love to expand my reading list.

22 thoughts on “Agatha Christie vs. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

  1. I should read them – well, I used to read Sherlock when I was like 8 but I haven’t read anything like that recently. When I get through my huge stack of current reads, I think I’ll hit up some classics. 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah, thats the deal for me. I’ve been reading a lot of fiction since I finished school, but I was looking around and kind of felt like I was missing out on Classics especially when I actually like a lot of them which are made into movies.

      Like

    • Maybe. I enjoy both of them so far, but I think I’m leaning towards the fact that Agatha Christie’s novel in general seems to draw me in a lot more. But then the character of Sherlock Holmes is made really complete. Not sure if that makes any sense..haha! 🙂

      Like

  2. I have to say if you like mysteries it is worth your time to pick up either author.
    I can’t say I think either is better than the other, they are both great writers (and wonderful characters).
    Each story universe has its own charm.

    Like

  3. Believe me, i’ve read a great amount of doyle’s sherlock and agatha christies Poirot and Miss marple mysteries. They are both great to read, and i love Doyle’s writing, but to me Agatha Christie is better. If you have any doubts, just read the the mystery THE MURDER OF ROGER Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

    Like

  4. Last year I read Christie for the first time, including And Then There Were None. I loved it. I still haven’t read any Doyle. I hope to fix that this summer

    Like

    • Hope you like it! I like both a lot, but I still find Agatha Christie to be easier to read. I haven`t read a full length Doyle yet, only The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and thats just a collection of short stories…

      Like

  5. Yes, both the writers have an amazing style. After having read their stories, I find it really hard to read any other fiction. I prefer Sherlock Holmes as a detective, I feel a strong passion for him and his methods, whereas i don’t feel the same for Poirot. The difference between the styles is that Christie’s novels are characterized by creative writing with unexpected twists, which is quite irritating at times, when the reader is quite involved in the story putting himself in the role of detective. Whereas Holmes’ stories are quite real with scientific deductions and are more intellectually entertaining.

    Like

    • I do agree with that! 🙂 Just depends which you prefer! Although its because Agatha Christie`s is creative writing which makes hers an easier read, it takes a little less effort. Holmes is definitely more scientific and the writing style is also more polished.

      Like

  6. I read “The Complete Annotated Sherlock Holmes” when I was really young. And, just last week, I saw Agatha Christie’s “The Mousetrap,” when I was in London. I guess I love good mystery writers (and good science fiction writers, too). I enjoyed reading your blog this morning (and thanks for reading mine, too).

    Like

  7. I prefer A.C Doyle. I’ve read every Sherlock Holmes story and I prefer the short stories to the novels. But I’ve only read a few Agatha Christie stories. What’s most annoying about Christie is she builds up believable characters and realistic context and background and then makes such unbelievable plots. Doyle never really claims to be realistic and therefore he is more consistent as a writer

    Like

  8. I’ve read almost all work of both writers.
    Though both are great writers in their own way, I wouldn’t compare their work.
    I belive that character of Hercule Poirot is on par with Sherlock Holmes, and it deseves more recognition.
    For me, best novel of Agatha Christie is ‘The Murder of Roger Ackroyd ‘ and ‘Hounds of Baskervile’ for Arthur Conan Doyle.
    Great write up; interesting read.

    It’s totally irrelevant, but I’ve wtitten a courtroom drama- witness for prosecution type- and I would love to know your thoughts on it. It’s short story:

    http://yourstoryclub.com/short-stories-social-moral/short-story-social-issue-howling-flower/

    Like

    • I’ve had another blogger recommend The Murder of Roger Ackroyd to me. I haven’t gotten around to reading it mostly because Agatha Christie novels are scattered and hard to find at times. But my eyes are open everything I go through bookstores 🙂

      Thanks for the link, I will check it out later today and leave a comment! 🙂

      Like

  9. Looking at ll the replies (as well as teh original blog-post, I wonder, just wonder, is ther anyone, anyone, who has made, or can make, a comparison of the plots of Holmes and Hercule/Marple.
    Having read many (I won’t say all), I sensed some parallels (I won’t say “copying”), but I’m not sure. I wonder if anyone felt the same or whether anyone who will be reading them all now would keep this in mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

